famiguard

How to Delete Telegram Account 2022

Home > Tips > How to Delete Telegram Account 2022
Tata Davis

Updated: Nov 09, 2022 11:10 am

2 min read

Are you ready to say goodbye to Telegram? Maybe you've found a better messaging app or you simply don't need it anymore. Whatever the reason, deleting your account is easy to do.

In this quick and easy guide, we will show you how to delete your Telegram account permanently in just a few steps. We will also share with you how you can backup your data before it's gone forever.

Part 1: Make a Telegram Backup (If You Need One)

If you decide to delete your Telegram account, all of your messages, groups, contacts and other data will be gone forever. That's why it's important to backup your data beforehand if you want to keep it.

To make a full backup of your Telegram account, you must use the desktop app. Here's how to do it:

Step 1: Open the Telegram desktop app on your computer.

Step 2: Click the hamburger icon in the top left and go to "Settings."

Step 3: Select "Advanced" from the menu and click "Export Telegram Data."

Step 4: Choose the data to backup and format. Then click "Export."

make telegram data back up

Part 2: How to Delete Telegram Account Using Self-destruction

The best way to delete your Telegram account is to use the self-destruction feature. This makes your account vanish automatically after a certain amount of time has passed since you last used it. This can be handy if you're not sure whether or not you want to delete your account yet.

Here's how to use this feature on both iPhone and Android to delete the account:

1. For iPhone

Step 1: Open the Telegram app on your iPhone and tap "Settings" from the bottom menu.

Step 2: Go to the "Privacy and Security" section of your account. Under the "Automatically Delete my Account" section, tap "If Away For."

Step 3: Choose the amount of time you want to pass before your account is deleted. You can also select "Delete Account Now" option to delete the account immediately.

deleted telegram on iphone

2. For Android

Step 1: Open the Telegram app on your Android phone and tap on the hamburger icon (the menu button).

Step 2: Go to the "Settings" section and tap on the "Privacy and Security" option.

Step 3: Under "Delete my account", tap on ‘If away for’ and set how long you want to pass before your account is deleted.

deleted telegram on android

Part 3: How to Delete Telegram Account Instantly

If you don't want your account to be deleted automatically, you can delete it manually right away by visiting the dedicated webpage. The process is pretty simple and only takes a few minutes.

Here's what you need to do:

Step 1: Visit the "Telegram Deactivation Page" from your mobile or desktop web browser.

Step 2: Enter the phone number (with country code) you used to sign up for Telegram and press the "Next".

enter phone number

Step 3: Open the Telegram app, copy the verification code you received and paste it into the "Confirmation Code" field on the website.

past verification conde into confirmation conde

Step 4: Finally, provide a reason for why you're leaving Telegram and press the "‘Delete My Account’ button".

click delete my account button

Part 4: FAQ

Q1: How can I delete my Telegram account without a phone number?

The easiest way to delete your Telegram account without a phone number is to use the self-destruction feature. This will delete your account automatically after a set amount of time has passed since you last used the app.

Q2: Can you recover a deleted Telegram account?

Since Telegram doesn't offer any option to temporarily deactivate your account, the deletion is permanent and irreversible. Whether you delete yourself or your account is automatically deleted due to inactivity, you will not be able to recover it or any of your data.

Conclusion

Telegram is a great messaging app with tons of features - but if you're ready to end your chapter with it, we hope this guide has helped you do so.

It's recommended to delete your account using the self-destruction feature to give yourself some time to change your mind. However, if you're certain you want to delete your account, you can do so using the dedicated webpage.

user

By Tata Davis

professional in software and app technology, skilled in blogging on internet

Generally rated 5 (170 participated)

success

Rated Successfully!

tips

You have already rated this article!

0 Comment(s)

Join the discussion!

Thank you for your feedback!